Samuel Adams

A year ago the St. Lawrence String Quartet played a new John Adams piece for us.  This year we will hear a piece from his son.  Samuel Adams was born in 1985. He was born and raised in San Francisco, attended Stanford University, and then went on to obtain a masters in composition from Yale.

Currently Samuel Adams is a Mead composer-in-residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. He, along with Elizabeth Ogonek, started a three year residency with the 2015-2016 season. Together they will curate the CSOs MusicNOW series and receive commissions to be performed by the CSO.

If reading scores appeals to you, on his website you can get a preview of several of his scores (including the one we will hear in a couple of weeks). Just follow this link and then click on the work of interest and you will see more information about the piece and if available the score preview link come up.  And of course if you visit his website, you can find out more about Samuel Adams in general!

On February 18, 2016, we will be treated to Adam’s String Quartet in 5 Movements (2013), a piece he wrote for the St. Lawrence Quartet and which they premiered at the Spoleto Festival USA in 2013.  Join us!


Leave a comment

Filed under Composers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s